Victoria Irons Walch Emerging Leader Award

Named for CoSA's first executive director, the Victoria Irons Walch Emerging Leader Award encourages the development of an emerging leader in state and territorial archives by providing training funds for an individual to attend leadership training.

The recipient will receive a certificate and continuing education funds.

Nomination Packet

Nominations must consist of the following, submitted as a single pdf file:

  1. Awards Program Nomination Form
  2. Brief Bio (up to one page) addressing the accomplishments and ongoing work of the nominee. Include any CoSA-related involvement.
  3. Letter of Support from one person (CoSA member or other) familiar with the nominee’s work.
  4. Supporting materials (optional) could include nominee’s resume or fuller biography; illustrations of work products or promotional materials; press releases; or other materials. All such additional should be carefully selected and be directly related to the nomination.

Nomination & Selection

  • Any organization or individual is invited to nominate person(s), organization(s), or program(s) for any of CoSA’s awards.
  • Nomination of oneself or one’s organization is permissible and encouraged.
  • All nominations are submitted via email, combining the nomination form and additional materials into a single pdf.
  • An Awards Committee, appointed by the CoSA president and chaired by the CoSA Immediate Past President, will review the nominations and select the recipients.
  • The number of awards for each category is at the discretion of the Awards Committee, and they reserve the right to make no awards.
  • Award recipients will be announced by May 9, 2023 with presentation of the awards taking place at the CoSA Annual Meeting.

Any questions may be directed to

2023 Nominations, Selection & Presentation Schedule

April 4, 2023: Deadline for nominations - Midnight Eastern Time

May 9, 2023: Notification of award recipients

July 2023: Awards presented at CoSA Annual Meeting

Award Recipients

Amy Moran / Josh Hackel / Ali Rahmaan

2023 Victoria Irons Walch Emerging Leader Award Recipients


  • Joshua Hackel, Electronic Records Archivist, Illinois State Archives
  • Amy Moran, Records Services Supervisor, Louisiana State Archives
  • Ali Rahmaan, Supervisory Records and Information Specialist, DC Office of Public Records


  • Tyler Stump, Pennsylvania


  • Patricia Mitchell, Tennessee
  • Catheryne Popovitch, Illinois
  • Megan Rohleder, Kansas


  • No honoree selected


  • No honoree selected


  • Kristopher Stenson, Oregon
  • Melissa Salazar, New Mexico


  • Veronica Martzahl, Massachusetts