Advocacy for Archives Award

This award acknowledges an individual or organization that has made significant contributions to efforts by state, territorial, and local government archives to ensure the preservation and availability of the American historical record.

The recipient will receive a certificate.

Nomination Packet

Nominations must consist of the following, submitted as a single pdf file:

  1. Awards Program Nomination Form
  2. Brief Bio (up to one page) addressing the accomplishments and ongoing work of the nominee. Include any CoSA-related involvement.
  3. Letter of Support from one person (CoSA member or other) familiar with the nominee’s work.
  4. Supporting materials (optional) could include nominee’s resume or fuller biography; illustrations of work products or promotional materials; press releases; or other materials. All such additional should be carefully selected and be directly related to the nomination.

Nomination & Selection

  • Any organization or individual is invited to nominate person(s), organization(s), or program(s) for any of CoSA’s awards.
  • Nomination of oneself or one’s organization is permissible and encouraged.
  • All nominations are submitted via email, combining the nomination form and additional materials into a single pdf.
  • An Awards Committee, appointed by the CoSA president and chaired by the CoSA Immediate Past President, will review the nominations and select the recipients.
  • The number of awards for each category is at the discretion of the Awards Committee, and they reserve the right to make no awards.
  • Award recipients will be announced by May 9, 2023 with presentation of the awards taking place at the CoSA Annual Meeting.

Any questions may be directed to

2023 Nominations, Selection & Presentation Schedule

April 4, 2023: Deadline for nominations - Midnight Eastern Time

May 9, 2023: Notification of award recipients

July 2023: Awards presented at CoSA Annual Meeting

Award Recipients

New York State Archives & the Archives Partnership Trust
2023 Advocacy for Archives Award recipient


  • New York State Archives & the Archives Partnership Trust


  • Congressman Don Young (R-AK), awarded posthumously


  • Nancy Beaumont, Society of American Archivists, Executive Director (retired)


  • Kendall Wiggin, Connecticut State Librarian (retired)


  • Vermont Secretary of State James C. Condos


  • Library of Virginia


  • No honoree selected


  • Leslie Reynolds, National Association of Secretaries of State
  • Doug Robinson, National Association of State Chief Information Officers


  • US Representative David E. Price, North Carolina


  • Friends of the Georgia Archives


  • US Senator Orrin G. Hatch, Utah


  • Cynthia Woodside, New York State Education Department
  • Michael Gill, Crowell & Moring LLP