CoSA-NHPRC SHRAB Award of Merit

National Archives, National Historical Publications & Records Commission

The Council of State Archivists (CoSA) and the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC) are pleased to recognize outstanding State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB) single or multi-year projects and programs with the SHRAB Award of Merit.


  • Any SHRAB project or program that resulted in strengthening the condition or access of documents and records within its state or territory is eligible for this award.
  • Projects and programs may be either one-time incidents or ongoing initiatives.
  • Projects and programs must have been carried out in the previous calendar year or, if multi-year projects, have activity in the previous calendar year.
  • SHRABs are encouraged to self-nominate.

Award Criteria

The Awards Committee will use one or more of the following criteria to evaluate nominations:

  • How did the project improve archival programs or raise the visibility of the archives within the state or territory? Did the project measurably improve current programs, adhere to best practices, or extend the reach of the archives?
  • Does the project improve accessibility to archival collections, reach new audiences, and/or enhance current programs?
  • What was the nominee’s accomplishment relative to its resources or responsibilities?
  • Is the project an outstanding example for other SHRABs? Signifianct to the field of government archives? Notable for overall quality? Unique or innovative?

Nomination Packet

Nominations must consist of the following, submitted as a single pdf file:

  1. CoSA-NHPRC Award of Merit Nomination Form
  2. Brief overview (up to one page) that explains the accomplishments and ongoing work of the SHRAB that relate to the award’s criteria.
  3. Letter of Support from at least one person (CoSA member or other) familiar with the nominee’s work.
  4. Supporting materials (optional) could include additional information aboutthe SHRAB’s work; illustrations of work products or promotional materials; press releases; or other materials. All such additional information should be carefully selected and be directly related to the nomination.

Nomination & Selection

  • All nominations are submitted via email, combining the nomination form and additional materials into a single pdf.
  • An Awards Committee, appointed by the CoSA president and chaired by the CoSA Immediate Past President, will review the nominations and select the recipients.
  • The number of awards for each category is at the discretion of the Awards Committee, and they reserve the right to make no awards.
  • Award recipients will be announced by May 9, 2023 with presentation of the awards taking place at the CoSA Annual Meeting.

Any questions may be directed to

2023 Nominations, Selection & Presentation Schedule

April 4, 2023: Deadline for nominations - Midnight Eastern Time

May 9, 2023: Notification of award recipients

July 2023: Awards presented at CoSA Annual Meeting

Award Recipients

South Carolina State Historical Records Advisory Board
2023 CoSA-NHPRC SHRAB Award Recipient
Utah State Historical Records Advisory Board
2023 CoSA-NHPRC SHRAB Award Recipient


  • South Carolina State Historical Records Advisory Board
  • Utah State Historical Records Advisory Board


  • New York State Historical Records Advisory Board


  • Lizette Pelletier, Connecticut State Archivist, and chair of the Connecticut State Historical Records Advisory Board


  • Illinois SHRAB regrant program


  • Massachusetts State Historical Records Advisory Board


  • Oklahoma State Historical Records Advisory Board


  • New Mexico State Historical Records Advisory Board