Resource Center

Digital Preservation Capability Maturity Model (DPCMM) 

04-23-2021 12:19 PM

The DPCMM is a framework used to assess an organization's ability to preserve and provide access to electronic records. It assesses electronic programs on 15 components: policy, strategy, governance, collaboration, technical expertise, open source/neutral formats, designated community, electronic records survey, ingest, storage, device/media renewal, integrity, security, metadata, and access. Programs receive scores in each component ranging from Stage 1 (Nominal) to Stage 5 (Optimal). Organizations can use the DPCMM to strengthen their electronic records programs by advancing through the stages of the components. Organizations can choose to focus on whichever components for which they have the resources.

URL for Resource:

Document Creating / Publishing Body: Charles Dollar and Lori Ashley

Alternate / Free Version URL: Version 2.6 (May 16, 2014)

Date of Creation: 6-Jul-15

Institutional Implementation: CoSA's State Electronic Records Initiative Program uses the DPCMM to access the the capability of the states, both individually and a group, to preserve government electronic records. (2012)

Associated SERP Framework Element: Designated Community, Device / Media Renewal, Governance, Strategy

Date Resource Added/Modified: October 20, 2015


0 Favorited

Related Entries and Links

No Related Resource entered.

The inclusion of any resource in the CoSA Resource Center does not imply a recommendation or endorsement of the resource by CoSA. Any views or opinions presented in the resource comments are solely those of the author and do not represent the views and opinions of CoSA